Make your own Liquid Laundry Soap – Borax Free

Standard

Today, I tried making half a batch of the liquid laundry soap (Borax free) from a recipe I found on The Hippy Homemaker.

It was very easy.

The original recipe makes 2 GALLONS.

Here is the recipe I used to make 1 GALLON.  My total cost $2.38

(I actually only made 96 oz in my batch, so it’s a little more concentrated.  Didn’t realize the jug I used wasn’t a full gallon, until it was too late.  In the future I will use empty vinegar bottles in the gallon size.)

  • 1/4 cup Washing Soda (approx. cost .25)
  • 1/4 cup Baking Soda   (approx. cost .25) (there is some talk about baking soda affecting the cleaning PH.  I like what it’s done in the past for laundry smells, so I left it in the recipe for now.  If I notice any cleaning problems, I will probably just leave it our and double the Washing Soda)
  • 3 oz Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap (approx. cost 1.88)
  • 20-50 drops essential oils ( I skipped this, this time)
  • Water

I grabbed a pot and poured in 1/4 cup Washing Soda.  I added some hot water and stirred until it dissolved.

Then I added 1/4 cup baking soda and stirred until that was dissolved.

I had an old glass Apple Juice jug (96oz, not 1 gallon) washed and ready to hold my new precious batch of laundry soap.  So, I grabbed my funnel and poured the water mixture into the jug.  Then I added 3 oz Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap.  I used peppermint because that’s what we had on hand.  You pick your favorite 😉

Then I just filled the jug with water allowing the water to rinse any soap left on my funnel into the jug.  I gently swirled it around to mix.

I have an HE front loading washer and used 1.5oz (a shot glass I had was my measuring cup) for my first load.  I used Distilled White Vinegar for fabric softener.

I should be able to get 64 loads out of this @ 1.5oz per load ($.04/load).   Calculating at 3oz a load you should get 32 loads @ $.08/load.

Got a regular top loading washer?  I’ve heard it’s recommended to use 3 oz in the normal top loading washers.

My first load washed with this recipe tonight (9/25).  I liked the results, except on some of the really dirty socks.  But I don’t think it’s anything that a soak wouldn’t help.  Usually I wash my whites separately from my lights anyway. I’ll try soaking them and maybe using peroxide in place of bleach if they are really bad.  Besides, while my other natural commercial detergent did get them cleaner, they weren’t exactly totally white, either.  So I am happy with an easy, all natural, inexpensive soap that works like I need it to.

UPDATE: Today, 9/26/13, I washed a stained rug and white rags on HOT with 3 oz of the soap. It got the rug completely clean.  YES!  Next I will test dirty socks washed on HOT and report the results.

UPDATE: 10/21/13, I have been using this soap for about 1 month.  I wash frequently.  I REALLY, REALLY like it and couldn’t be more satisfied.

NOTE:
For heavily soiled items (in my case, my daughter’s white socks) I have found that washing on HOT gets them cleanest.

Also, the mix will kind of begin to clump if it get’s very cold.  It won’t hurt anything and will still wash smoothly.  I just give the bottle a shake before dispensing.  If it really bothers you, add some hot water and swirl until it dissolves better.

I am also still using VINEGAR as a fabric softener (about 1/4 – 1/3 cup in my HE washer).  I AM IN LOVE.  Why didn’t I know about this sooner?

If you’d rather use a powdered laundry soap: Here is a link to making your own Powdered Laundry Soap found at Mommypotamus. 🙂

One response »

  1. Pingback: DIY Non-Toxic Dishwasher Detergent – Borax Free | The Red Vegan

Leave a comment